top of page

A Rose in the Desert | #DubaiDaiquiris


“Each time I say good-bye to a place I like, I feel like I am leaving a part of me behind.” ― Elif Shafak, The Forty Rules of Love

And that's how it ought to be I believe. The past is nothing but an interpretation and the future nothing but an illusion, what we have is now, this moment, and places that belong to the past, versions of you that are of the past, are better off staying there- this unless it's necessary to take specks of them as part of your growth that contributes to the joy of the moment in the go.

When I chose the tag 'Daiquiri' to put after Dubai as part of my travel labels, it was more of a word meant to depict the bold endeavors I was looking forward to pounce into in Dubai. I never consumed alcohol until a month ago, and whilst 'Daiquiri' means a rum cocktail, it significantly was chosen to represent a form of rebellion on my behalf. And while I had premeditated that the rebellion would be of sorts, Dubai surprised me with the form of self-rebellion it made me undergo instead!

“Every true love and friendship is a story of unexpected transformation. If we are the same person before and after we loved, that means we haven't loved enough.” ― Elif Shafak, The Forty Rules of Love

Surely, post that 'self-rebellion', I did feel changed, I still feel changed. To deny that would be to deny the beautiful process of life.

I met people in Dubai. Amazing people. And they brought me to trigger changes within my way of life, leaving me more the less enamored.

“Try not to resist the changes that come your way. Instead let life live through you. And do not worry that your life is turning upside down. How do you know that the side you are used to is better than the one to come?” ― Elif Shafak, The Forty Rules of Love

And in that way, a plant grew in the desert. And no, I'm not talking of a cactus, or dates, or palms. Perhaps little do I know now, that that plant could actually be a rose in the desert-ish expanse of my dimension.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page